Home > See your visitor’s screen with Cobrowse
Categories: Featured Article
(Last Updated On: January 13, 2020)
The Cobrowse feature will allow your agents to view the screen of your visitor’s website during an ongoing chat and even take control of their mouse. You will be able to test this only for Widgets where the Design Studio is enabled, and if your plan is Professional or Enterprise. Come and speak to us if you would like to change plans!
To enable this feature, you will need to go (1) Settings -> (2) Integrations -> (3) Cobrowse -> (4)Enable cobrowsing for this widget, and hit Save. Then head over to the Design Studio tab, and hit save there as well.
When agents sign in to their Conversations Hub they will see a new “Cobrowse” option at the bottom of the screen upon receiving a chat from a widget where it’s active (5).
The button will appear only during an active chat with a web-visitor and not on the Conversations Hub home page or in team chats.
To start a co-browse session, the agent will simply need to click on the “Cobrowse” button. The web-visitor will be asked for their permission in order to start a cobrowse session and will need to click on “Accept” to allow the screen to be shared (6).
If accepted, the agent will be informed by a system message (7):
Once accepted, the visitor’s screen will be displayed at the right side of the Hub after it takes some time to load:
Once it does, the agent will be able to change the size of the shared screen display area by clicking the button (8) as shown in the following screenshot:
The agent also has the option to click on the control icon (9) to take control of the visitor’s screen or the expand button (10) to open on a new tab.
After the screen-sharing request has been accepted by the visitor, they (the visitor) will see a light blue frame around their shared tab which indicates exactly that their screen is being shared:
During the screen-sharing session the chat agent will be able to see the visitor’s cursor.
The visitor will see a small, blue indicator wherever the agent is clicking on the page. The agent is able that way to guide the visitor as to where on the page they should be looking at.
The agent is also able to see the position of the visitor’s chat box and any changes made in regards to it. You can see if the visitor has moved the chat box and if they have minimised it.
When the screen-sharing session starts the agent will only be able to view the visitor’s page but not control it. To do so, the agent will have to click on the middle icon of the control menu (9). The same control menu will appear in the separate tab that the agent might have opened the screen sharing session as described above:
The chat agent will then be able to control the web-visitor’s screen which also means that they will be able to change the page they are on and direct them to another one:
Sensitive information masking is now available in this Beta release. If you have sensitive information displayed on your website (eg. a form where the visitor would enter sensitive information like credit card details), you need to work with your developer to make sure this part of your website is protected by adding a special html attribute on the element that contains that sensitive information. The attribute can be either snapengage-redact or snapengage-ignore.Please ask your developers to contact us with an email to firstname.lastname@example.org if they need assistance with this.
The screen-sharing session will end either when the agent clicks on the close button “X” of the control menu (11) or when the chat ends.
Once the chat is closed, the agent will be able to find the chat under their Closed Chats tab where the last page displayed before the chat ended will appear:
- Once the agent takes control of the web-visitor’s screen they cannot stop it. Control of the screen will be active until the end of the chat and the cobrowse session itself.
- It is possible that agents will experience delays while a screen is loading or reacting to the agent’s control. Performance still needs optimization before production release and we are working on this item every day.
- As mentioned above, we are working on making the highlighting feature more reliable as the highlighted area on the client’s side might not correspond to the one the agent draws.
Make sure that the option to block third party cookies on your browser is disabled
Published November 13, 2019