Home > How do upgrades and downgrades work?
Categories: Featured Article
(Last Updated On: May 20, 2020)
SnapEngage is license-based, therefore, if you want to add more agents than you have licenses for, you will need to purchase those licenses beforehand. If you want to downgrade, you will need to delete those agents, but also reduce the number of licenses from the admin dashboard. On this article, we explain the logic behind upgrades and downgrades.
Should you want to add any agents, you can do this at any time. If you pay by credit card or paypal, you will be charged for the difference between the time of adding the agent and the end of the billing cycle for the amount of agents you are adding. Then the new agent count will be calculated into the next billing cycle. For example, if you pay yearly for 20 agents, and you paid on January 1st to December 31st, and in June, you want to add 10 extra agents, we will charge for this 10 extra agents between June and December in one payment when you add the licenses. The following year, we will charge you for 30 agents, unless you downgrade before December 31st.
If you pay via invoice, contact our Support team, or your CSM to add those agents to your account, and a new invoice will be generated covering the new agents between the time they were added and the next billing cycle. For example if you paid on January 1st until December 31st, and in June 30th you want to add 10 agents, we will issue a new invoice for those 10 agents for 6 months. The following year, those 10 agents will be included in the new invoice unless you tell us otherwise in nadvance.
Before you can remove agent licences, you will need to remove those agents from every widget. Then you will head over to My account – My subscription, and you will select the new number of agents. The new billing will only take effect on the next payment date, and you will lose the number of agents for the remainder of the time, so we recommend to downgrade close to the payment date.
Should you want to add widgets, you can do so anytime from My account – Subscription, and use the slider, just like you would add agents. You will get charged for the amount of widgets for the remainder of your subscription straight away, and the account owner will be able to add new widgets from that moment on. The new number of widgets will be calculated for the next billing cycle, and added onto it.
Should you want to remove widgets, you will need to delete them first, and then reduce the number (please be aware that some plans have a minimum amount of widgets). Then use the sliders, as you would for the agents, under My account – Subscription. The new number of widgets will only take effect in the following billing cycle, but you will lose these widgets as soon as you downgrade, so we recommend to downgrade close to the payment date.
Should you wish to upgrade to a higher plan, you can do so anytime, the price difference will be calculated, and you will be charged for the difference until the end of the billing cycle with the card you have on the system. If you wish to downgrade to a lower plan, you can also do anytime, but the new price will only take effect on the next payment date, so we recommend to downgrade close to that date. If you are on invoice, please get in touch with us, should you want to upgrade to a new plan, we will issue a new invoice covering the amount between the time of the request and the end of the billing cycle. Account owner can change plans from under “My account”, by selecting the new plan from the options, and clicking on update plan.
If you add additional paid features, for example, SMS to chat, you will be charged for this straight away, and they will be added onto the next billing cycle as well.
If you have any questions about any of these processes, please do not hesitate to contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org or on chat.
Published November 21, 2019