Home > Configuring and Using Secure Data Transfer
(Last Updated On: August 21, 2020)
SnapEngage’s Secure Data Transfer feature allows your agents to safely collect confidential information from your visitors right in the chat window. This feature keeps your business compliant with the latest data security requirements and provides peace-of-mind for your visitors.
This feature is only available on Professional (and higher) Plans.
To activate the Secure Data Transfer feature, login to your SnapEngage account and click on the Options tab within the Settings section. The Secure Data settings are located near the middle of the page:
Simply click on the checkbox to the left of the forms you would like available to your agents and then click on the green “Save Changes” button in the bottom right corner of the screen. Conversely, if you wish to disable any forms, uncheck the option and click on the “Save Changes” button. If no forms are selected, the “Secure Data Transfer” option will not be available to your agents within the Conversations Hub.
At any point during a chat, an agent can send a secure data transfer request to a visitor by clicking on the “Secure Data Transfer” button in the bottom right corner of Conversations Hub under actions. Once the agent clicks on the button, a pop-up window will appear, allowing the agent to select the type of secure data they wish to collect.
After selecting the desired type of secure data, the agent will receive system messages in Conversations Hub noting the type of request and when the visitor has received the request. These messages are also saved and stored in the chat transcripts.
Once a Secure Data Transfer request is made by an agent, the visitor will receive the appropriate form for completion (credit card, social security or secure note) within their chat window.
The visitor will also receive a notification that their secure data has been received by the agent.
What the agent sees:
All communications between the web client and servers are SSL encrypted as well as being encrypted with our own algorithms. All secure data is deleted when a chat is closed and/or transferred, as well as when the Conversations Hub is reloaded by an agent. NO SECURE DATA IS SAVED IN CHAT TRANSCRIPTS.
- Secure Data Transfer is only available via the Conversations Hub.
- The Secure Data Transfer feature is PCI.
- This feature is more limited on HIPAA accounts, find more information here.
Published August 3, 2015