Home > Disable Tab Discarding in Chrome

Categories:


(Last Updated On: December 15, 2020)

What is Tab Discarding?

Tab Discarding is a new experimental feature developed by Google Chrome, to discard, or idle out, inactive Chrome browser tabs. The tab is discarded if it is left idle for a certain amount of time with no response. Chrome previously had a Tab Throttling feature which performed a similar function, but as they are constantly improving this, the process and naming changes often.

If the SnapEngage Hub is not active for some time, Chrome may automatically discard this tab, causing notifications and sounds to no longer fire as normal. This may result in missed chats for the agent.

Luckily, there is a way to prevent Chrome from discarding the SnapEngage Hub. Here’s how it’s done.

1. Open this Chrome section in a new browser tab: chrome://discards/

This will essentially show every open Chrome tab in your browser in a sheet view.

2. Navigate to the row where the Hub is listed:

3. Towards the end of the column on the right side, you will see a column called “Auto Discardable”;

4. On the row correlating with the SnapEngage Hub, click on [Toggle] to disable the Auto Discard feature for that tab. It should change from a ✓ to an X:

Once done, you should no longer experience the Chrome tab idling out. If you continue to experience difficulties, please come and chat with our Support team!

Did you find this article helpful?

Not HelpfulNeeds WorkSo-soHelpfulVery Helpful (1 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)
Loading ... Loading ...

Published December 15, 2020