Home > How to add or remove an agent

Categories: | |


(Last Updated On: September 27, 2018)

What are agents?

Agents are what we call the people who will be using SnapEngage chat to help your customers with their questions. They are the front line of customer service, so you want to set them up as best as you can!

Here we will go into detail on what settings you will be able to add to their profiles:


Getting Started!

Go to “Settings” > “Agent Settings” > “Chat Agents” as shown here:

In the Agent Settings tab, you will see the following:

1. Add an agent

To add and start configuring your agents, first click the “Add chat agent” button at the bottom left corner. Once you do that, a Popup Box will show up. That is the Agent Profile and in there you will be able to configure.

2. Add bot

You can read more about our Info-Capture bot here.

3. Add Priority Tier

For Premier Accounts or higher, you have the option of separating your agents in to tiers. You can read more about this here.

4. Edit Agent

This will allow you to change the agent’s name, email or other relevant information. See the next section below for an in-depth look at the individual Agent Settings.

5. Delete Agent

This will permanently delete this agent from this widget. If the agent is added to other widgets also, you will also need to follow these steps in the other widget to remove them from there.


Editing an Agent

1. Changing agent’s status

You can change an Agent’s availability status by clicking the icon next to the agent image. This is especially useful if an agent has forgotten to log out, for example.

2. Update Agent Photo

This allows you to change the Agent’s visitor-facing photo. This photo will be shown to visitors when this agent answers a chat.

3. Delete Photo

Similarly to the above, this allows you to remove the Agent’s photo.

4. Enter Agent’s email address

Enter your agent’s email address. This must be a valid email and will be the one used by your Agents to access their SnapEngage account.

5. Choose alias

This name will be what your chat visitors will see, and it will also be in the Logs and in the Analytic Reports

Note: Please avoid using the same alias for more than one agent since this is bound to cause assignment inconsistencies. If you have two agents called Sophia, you could set them up using the first letter of their surname; Sophia L. and Sophia B. for example.

6. Enter phone number (optional)

If you wish to use our “Call Me” feature, your agents will need to have a phone number configured. This phone number will not be revealed to any Visitors. Calls placed by the “Call Me” feature will come from a system-based phone number with a 303 area code. For more info on this feature click here: Call Me.

7. CRM account

If you have an integration with a CRM, such as Desk, SalesForce and HubSpot, you can add your agent’s account information in the preset field (you’ll see in Mia’s Agent Profile above that there is a field for her Desk.com. The field is specifically for Desk.com because that is the integration for the widget selected at the time). Once you start typing their name the field will auto populate with their info.

8. Maximum Number of Visitor Chats

That is where you set up the number of chats each agent can have at the same time. You can set different numbers per agent, so that agents in training don’t have to handle too many at once. This number overrides the default number of chats per agent that you set in your general Agent Settings.

9. Agent Tags

Agent tags (available on Premier plans) is an advanced feature which enables routing of chats to the most appropriate agent based on skill-set, language, speciality, etc. You can see how to enable that here: Tags

10. Send password reset email

If an agent has already authenticated the account, you have the option of manually issuing a password reset link by clicking this button. If an agent hasn’t authenticated their account, you can instead resend the authentication email in place of the password reset email.

Then Save!

When you hit save, your Agents should receive notifications.

Agents will receive an email with instructions on how to log in. (Note: if there is already a SnapEngage account associated with this email address, the Agent will not receive this notification. They can simply log in with the credentials they are already using.)


Note: Deleting an agent from a widget does not delete them automatically from other widgets as well. To completely remove an agent from your account, you will need to manually delete them from all the widgets in which they might be configured.

Did you find this article helpful?

Not HelpfulNeeds WorkSo-soHelpfulVery Helpful (2 votes, average: 3.50 out of 5)
Loading ... Loading ...

Published November 5, 2012